top of page

Why I decided to study abroad and become a social media intern for my university

I've always been somebody who has had metaphorical "ants in their pants" -- I could never stay in one place for too long. Because of this, during the spring break of my first year in college, I decided to participate in a study abroad program that would take me to the Bahamas. I was excited to learn more about my major as well as explore this beautiful Caribbean country. I had always known that I wanted to study abroad once my time came in college, and when I saw that I could have more than just one opportunity for it, I was over the moon.


The Bahamas being my first study abroad experience, I was very nervous, but came to find that the initial anxiety was nothing compared to the excitement that endured during my trip. When I was studying in the Bahamas, I had already committed to a semester long program in Barcelona, Spain for the upcoming fall. Two chances to study abroad in places I've never been before in just one year? Count me in! I was obviously excited for both programs, but once I finished the study abroad short program in Nassau, the capital of the Bahamas, I knew I was ready for a much longer program across the Atlantic.


Descending over the Western side of New Providence on our way to Lynden Pindling Int'l Airport in Nassau

The reason I chose to study abroad was because it fits perfectly with my major and my interests. My major is in Hospitality Management, therefore, traveling is not only a fun pastime for me, but also educational. Hospitality and tourism are closely related, and as of this moment in my journey to discovering which path I want to go down with my hospitality degree, tourism seems like an interesting concentration. Many people like to ask me why I chose to major in hospitality, and my answer is simple: "find a job you enjoy doing, and you will never have to work a day in your life" (thanks, Mark Twain!). I enjoy helping people in a way that makes their lives easier; I like to treat others the way I wish to be treated; I like to travel and explore and expand my curiosity -- And hospitality caters to all of that! I found a major that worked for me, not just something that would put food on the table. Therefore, hospitality was the clear choice.



A pineapple is the symbol of hospitality!

To expand my knowledge of the world in a way that would not only help me personally, but also help me in my career, I knew that the smartest way to combine getting an education while entertaining my interests was to study in a foreign country. What better way to learn how to cater to those you will be accommodating than through a culturally enriching experience? I chose to study abroad in Spain because the national language is Spanish, which is the second most widely used language in the USA. Knowing how to speak someone's native tongue makes them feel more at ease around you. Without a language barrier, I would be able to accommodate more clients with ease, making everybody's experience a pleasurable one -- which is what hospitality is all about!



A local boutique on Harbour Island in the Bahamas

Since I will be studying abroad, I've decided I should record my memories in a way that will influence and motivate others to study abroad as well. Since I've been offered the opportunity to become a social media intern for the Study Abroad Center at my home university, Iowa State, I reflected on my last study abroad program and realized I wish I would have a better visual memory of it. I think that getting the chance to become an intern for the SAC would motivate me to create more content, not only for my own personal scrapbook, but for those who are on the fence about studying abroad. Moving to a whole new country on a whole new continent for a few months can be really intimidating. That being said, I want to help people see just how fulfilling the opportunity to study overseas can be. If my social media presence can influence people to take an interest in exploring the wonder of our planet, then maybe that will confirm that hospitality was not only a good career choice to pursue, but that it lives in my bones.



Art hanging in the lobby of The Ocean Club Resort made by a local Bahamian artist, whose works are also showcased at other popular resorts, including Atlantis

Thinking about studying abroad can be overwhelming. But the way I think of it, you're not going to live forever -- so go out and trot the globe! Live life as if you were going to die tomorrow. As dark as that sounds, that has been half of my motivation throughout this process. Seize the day, because you may not have the same opportunities tomorrow.


Carpe Diem my friends,

Michelle

113 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page