top of page

Montserrat: Hiking Sant Jeroni & Visiting the Monastery

Last week, I decided to sign up for a last minute trip to Montserrat. Before I even came to Spain, I decided that it was one of the places I wanted to visit most. Once I mentioned the idea of visiting Montserrat to my host mom, she talked my ear off about it. It was official - I had to go!


Montserrat

While I planned to go, I had no idea who I would go with and how I would get there - I just knew I wanted to go. Then at the new student orientation at my university, CETT, we had a presentation about a program named Erasmus that took international students on cheap trips around Spain. Sounds amazing, right? How could I not research them a bit more?


I visited their Facebook page and found tons of amazing offers for day trips around Spain. Coincidentally, I stumbled upon a trip to Montserrat that was happening that same week. How lucky did I just get? A quick consult with my friends, a frantic dig through my purses to find my credit card, and an e-mail confirmation later, me and two of my new buddies were ready to head off on our first adventure outside of the ever-lively city of Barcelona.


Upon arrival to Montserrat, I knew I wanted to check out the Monastery and the chapel before I left. But I also knew that wasn't all I could do. So, before that, me and my roommate, Kylie, hiked up to the top of Sant Jeroni - the highest peak in the Spanish region of Catalunya.



Nearly to the peak of Sant Jeroni!

The hike up took a little over two hours for us but it was definitely worth it. Both me and Kylie agree that it is the hardest hike either of us has ever done. It was not a long hike, but there were a lot of loose rocks and it was, obviously, an up-hill battle. At the top, we ate some lunch that we had brought with us and took in the mountain views. Our hike down only took about an hour but it was a little more difficult maneuvering through the loose rocks and steeper drops in the stone steps on the trail. At one point, we had to slide down on our butts to avoid falling into a shallow natural pool full of big rocks. But we did it! We made it up and back down! And it was sooo worth it.



Afterwards, we walked around the souvenir shops and went inside the Monastery to pray and admire the beautiful alter. Outside of the chapel, there was also a museum but the line to get inside was too long and our bus would have left without us had we stayed. Instead, we lit candles for our families, our host mom, and her son outside the chapel. There was an area specifically for lighting candles that was half indoor, half outdoor. It was nestled between the wall of the chapel and part of a rock wall that belonged to the mountains. However, there was no physical ceiling above us - only the sky.



Deciding to visit Montserrat was definitely a decision worth making. It is a beautiful trip to take. If you don't like hiking, you don't have to hike all the way to the top of the mountain. There are ski lift type machines called "funiculars" that can take you up to the mountains for around 10 Euros. However, they do not take you to the peak of Sant Jeroni. As someone who is very unconditioned and had to stop a few more times than I would have liked along the way, there is not a single ounce of regret in my body. I'd rather have sore legs on my hike up the mountain to the beautiful summit, than regret it later on and think to myself "I really wish I had done that".



If you decide to study abroad in Barcelona -- or even if you just come here to visit -- Montserrat should definitely be a place on your Barcelona Bucket List. 10/10 would recommend! Just remember that if you ever have an inkling of a feeling that you want to do something or go somewhere, follow your gut and do it! Carpe Diem, because life is short and there is so much of the world still left to explore.


~ Michelle

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page