top of page

First trip outside of Spain: Kraków, Poland!

Remember how last week I wrote my blog about the importance of traveling within your own host country? Yep, I still stand by that. However, travel anywhere is important to expand your mind and learn more about different cultures.


This weekend, me and my roommate, Kylie, visited Kraków, Poland. Since I have been to Kraków many times before, I was able to be a mediator for Kylie and show her around a place I am very familiar with. Luckily, we were able to stay with my aunt and cousin, so we did not have to pay for any rooming accommodation at a hotel or hostel. We ate traditional Polish food, tried traditional polish desserts, toured the historic Stare Miasto, Wawel Cathedral & Castle, as well as climbed up Kopiec Kościuszki (Kosciuszko Mound) for a panoramic view of the city of Kraków.


As someone who has been and seen these things many times before, my favorite part of my stay was being able to see my family. I missed the home cooked Polish meals and being able to have conversations in Polish. I am sad to be returning to Barcelona but glad a got a chance to visit Poland in the first place. I have so many new adventures ahead of me in Spain and I am excited to pursue them.


So, I have decided that I will do a mini top five favorites for all the new places I visit outside of my host country. Picture can be found at the bottom of this blog entry. Here’s the first of many top 5 lists:


Kraków, Poland


Favorite activity: walking the grounds of Wawel Castle & Cathedral and watching the sun set over the Wisła (Vistula River).


Favorite savory food: man, this is a tough one because I really love Polish food, but the best thing I ate during this trip was a kotlet schabowy z kapustą (pork cutlet with sauerkraut) from a restaurant called Marchewka z Groszkiem. The kapusta is really what launched this meal to the top of the list - it was really one of the best kapustas I’ve ever had (sorry Mom)!


Favorite Sweet Treat: PÄ„CZKI!!! Normally, I am not a fan of the pÄ…czki with the traditional rose flavored filling. However, on this trip, I had a rose filled pÄ…czek with orange glaze and orange bits on top and it was DELICIOUS. 10/10 highly recommend.


Favorite drink: orenzada/oranzada. Orenzada comes in a few colors but the traditional color is clear (all taste the same however, at least to me). Orenzada is a clear, carbonated sugary drink similar to soda. It tastes very sweet and sticky but you can taste the difference between it and, say, Sprite. I recommend trying it if you ever get the chance.


Favorite Fun Fact: If you love birds, Głowny Rynek (Main Square) is the place for you! I have never seen more pigeons in my life than in the Main Square in Old Town Kraków. You can notice them flying around in some of the photos below!


Thank you guys for staying tuned to my adventures and my blog! Next stop: Morocco!

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page